Looking Back by Moving Foward

So if you have me on Instagram you will know already that I’m going through everything in my room and getting sentimental over many things. I’m clearing out my room to start preparing for life at uni, deciding what I can pack away already, what I can get rid of forever and what I need to keep within reach for the rest of the summer.

This process is super long and yesterday I was only able to get through my wardrobe which is mainly because that’s where I keep my memory box. Distraction was inevitable, there was no way of avoiding going through every single thing in there. My favourite bit was finding my three favourite books from childhood, the things my mum would read to me in bed and what hit me most was my favourite rhymes and stories still had the corners folded over after all these years for easy access. As corny as it sounds I did get emotional, like the only reason I was looking at this stuff was because I was about to move away and start a whole new chapter of my life away from home and it’s unreal how quick these years have gone by. A simple box held my whole life. These books were always something that would put a smile on my face and here they were sitting in front of me held together by decade old tape and all I could think about was how much I wanted to rewind, and go back that part of my life and not have to worry about anything.

Okay so this is the first one, this book was amazing, it has all the original stories that are now classic Disney films and more stories with amazing illustrations, I mean look at that cover it's every kids dream.

Okay so this is the first one, this book was amazing, it has all the original stories that are now classic Disney films and more stories with amazing illustrations, I mean look at that cover it’s every kids dream.

This is the one that I loved mum to read to me the most, the rhymes and the way she read them made child-me crack up everytime, the Edward Lear stuff was our favourite.

This is the one that I loved mum to read to me the most, the rhymes and the way she read them made child-me crack up every time, the Edward Lear stuff was our favourite.

This is from the the book above. It's called The Quangle Wangle's Hat, it was my favourite thing in there because it had all of Edward Lear's character's come into it. It was a top mash-up.

This is from the book above. It’s called The Quangle Wangle’s Hat, it was my favourite thing in there because it had all of Edward Lear’s character’s come into it. It was a top mash-up.

If you don't know the Flower Fairies, I have no words for you. This book had every single Flower Fairy in it and had a poem and picture for each of them. I loved it and I would try and find the fairies using the book, unfortunately I didn't come across any but this was before I found out I need glasses so that's probably why I couldn't see them.

If you don’t know the Flower Fairies, I have no words for you. This book had every single Flower Fairy in it and had a poem and picture for each of them. I loved it and I would try to find the fairies using the book, unfortunately I didn’t come across any but this was before I found out I need glasses so that’s probably why I couldn’t see them.

The above all occurred yesterday, I’m now lying on my bed typing surrounded by boxes.
One is a giant box that used to my Grandad’s microwave in it. Now it holds too many books, some scarves I won’t need before uni, toys I collected from Luminosity, a marvel alarm clock, some cute stuff to make my desk look nice and other stuff I can’t actually remember. It’s the tidbit box basically.
There is a big box filled with the essential DVDs for uni, all perfectly arranged as if it was a game of Tetris. Not even gonna try and figure out how many there are, let’s just say I’m not sure how I’m going to store them all in my flat but they still have to come. They have to.
There is a small box half filled with hand creams I found in my drawers I hadn’t finished, and drinking games and a couple of notebooks and one copy of my FMP book. Not sure what I want to put in there.

My room is now sort of cramped but also feels quite bare. It’s an odd feeling and this process is a weird mix of “omg I am so fucking excited” and “omg I am so fucking terrified”. I got through the mood swings today by passionately singing along with Fight Song by Rachel Platten.

Soon I will be collecting kitchen supplies and other essential living equipment that is on the list that I’ve lost somewhere. I think mum knows where it is so don’t panic.

So.. What did you think?

